who we are

T

he Union County Community Arts Council is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization whose mission is to lead, cultivate, and promote the arts as an essential component of community life and education. We believe that by creating and supporting opportunities for Union County residents to create, perform, or attend arts activities, we are enhancing the education and quality of life aspects of our community members.

Meet Those Behind Our Mission

  • Barbara Faulk
    Barbara Faulk Executive Director

Julie Rushing

Administrative Assistant

Our Mission

The mission of the Union County Community Arts Council began in 1980 by four area businessmen; John Ashcraft, Jim Barnett, Koy Dawkins, and Ben Helms, for the purpose of creating an organization whose mission would enhance the quality of life in Union County.  This mission continues today by serving the people of Union County, promoting the arts as an essential component of community life.  The council’s roots included the Union County Playmakers and the first annual Blooming Arts Festival in downtown Monroe.  Since incorporation, the Union County Community Arts Council has with worked with thousands of volunteers who continue to believe in the cultural arts programs and services to the council.

  • increasing the participation in and the awareness and appreciation of the arts
  • to serve as a cultural planner and resource agency for the citizens of Union County
  • developing programming and services to meet the needs of our community
  • providing financial assistance to non-profit arts organizations and individuals and encourage arts in Union County

Board Of Directors

Ron Hinson, President
Hinson Electric
rhinson@hinsonelectricinc.com

Amy Jackson, President-Elect
Wingate University
P.O. Box 159
Wingate, NC 28174
(704) 233-8294 (office)
a.jackson@wingate.edu

Mike Lutes, Secretary
Atrium Health Union
600 Hospital Drive
Monroe, NC 28112
(980) 993-4057 (office)
michael.lutes@atriumhealth.org

Michelle Lancaster, Treasurer
Union County, Assistant Manager
Union County Government Center
500 N. Main Street
(704) 283-3656 (office)
(704) 283-3793 (fax)
michelle.lancaster@unioncountync.gov

Ron Brown, Past-President
State Utility Contractors Inc.
704-289-6400 (office)
704-282-0590 (fax)
ron@sucontractors.com

Edwena Amanuel
AVP South State bank
(704) 698-1103 (office)
edwena.amanuel@southstatebank.com

Cress Barnes
East Frank Superette and Kitchen
810 E. Franklin street
cressbarnes@gmail.com

Ernest Collins
(704) 282-2051 (fax)
ecollinsadmail.com

Julie Helms
Helms Heating & Air
juliehelms@helmsheating.com

Michael Lanphier
Merrill Lynch, VP
13850 Ballantyne Corporate Place
Suite 100
Charlotte, NC 28277
(704) 341-5119 (office)
(704) 837-8461 (fax)
michael_lanphier@ml.com

Tracy Price
meersp@aol.com

Derek Skinner
Truist
512 N.Hayne Street
Monroe, NC 28112
(704) 289-7245 (office)

Vicki Merritt
Central Academy of Technology & Arts
600 Brewer Drive
Monroe, NC 28112
(704) 296-3088 (office)
(704) 296-3090 (fax)
vicki.merritt@ucps.k12.nc.us

Matthew Stewart
Woodforest National Bank
(704) 969-2300 (office)
matthew.stewart@woodforest.com

Dr. Ann Walters
anngwalters@yahoo.com

Martha Wegner
Duke Energy
(704) 395-4355 (office)
martha.wegner@duke-energy.com

Ex-officio Board Of Directors

Carl Bishop
South Piedmont Community College
(704) 290-5281 (office)
cbishop@spcc.edu

Dr. Brad Breedlove
Union County Public Schools
(704) 296-1003 (office)
william.breedlove@ucps.k12.nc.us

Jenna Westbrook
Union Academy Foundation
675 N. ML King Jr. Blvd.
Monroe, NC 28110
jenna.westbrook@weareua.org

Brian Borne,  Interim Monroe City Manager
City of Monroe
P.O. Box 69
Monroe, NC 28111
bborne@monroenc.org

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt